Online Reviews

Tripadvisor Reviews

Spent several days here and found it very comfortable and enjoyable. The accommodations are great – spacious, comfortable, amazing bathroom and shower. Sunrises and sunsets and stars are hard to beat. The bar is a fabulous building with a great deck. Food was consistently very good. Staff could not have been more helpful. The whole place seems to have a sustainability ethic. Everything is very well done.
Sept 2019
-Thomas G

Wow! This place was a breath of fresh air after the places we’ve stayed in around Mongolia. The best glamping in the country! The staff and services were great!

It’s a long ride from Dalanzadgad airport. But once we arrived the setting made up for it. Keep in mind there are no roads around so it is one bumpy ride to the camp.

The gers come with their own toilet (no door to the bathroom) and shower. There’s eco friendly soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Everything is eco friendly. You have to ask for a hairdryer. Good news is there is an electric outlet! Lighting is good but was limited because of solar energy. Water is limited so plan on taking quick showers (I’m sure you will it’s either freezing cold or boiling hot in the mornings, in my ger at least). Get extra portable lighting/flash lights and extra batteries just in case electricity goes off (it did a few times we were there, but briefly as I had to run over in the dark to ask for help). Ok so the bad news is there’s no TV (like all camps) or WiFi, but they don’t see this as bad as the place screams of unwinding and relaxation. There is a tv room under the bar and they have a handful of movies and documentaries, all Mongolia-related, and they’re a good selection.

The bar area is where you go to read, drink and get to know other guests. The restaurant opens during meal times only and you can see what they’re cooking for lunch and dinner through the kitchen windows. All set menu so you have to give them your allergies and dietary options. Breakfast buffet was really really good. The food is the best we had during our whole stay in Mongolia!

There are a few activities like horse riding and electric scooters. And of course excursions. You take the walkway up the hill behind the camp and walk for about 5 minutes to the sunset viewing area which is a great place on the other side of the hill.

I recommend staying for at least 2 nights. We stayed 4 nights and it was great.

-Noura August 2019

Would highly recommend staying here for your Mongolian adventure. The accommodation is lovely and with en-suite an plenty of warm water, you don’t leave any of life’s luxuries behind. The food was very good! If you, like us need a little 4G, climb up the little hill above the camp and head left.. we happily found some which meant we could connect back
Home. ( map attached :)) Go and enjoy! The camp is magnificent and Mongolia South Gobi dessert is breath taking!
Read less

Date of stay: August 2019

“This remarkable ecolodge is a unique cultural experience in the south Gobi. The central library/bar is a tasteful stone and wood building with books and videos about the natural history of the area. Lodging is in very comfortable gers. Recommend the deluxe double gers with attached stone bathroom. The restaurant ger provides very good food in a pleasant setting.” (RGE2012- Tripadvisor Review 2015)

“I’ve been to many ger camps in Mongolia, but nothing compares to the Three Camel Lodge. It provides the best in service and accommodation. The atmosphere in and around the lodge is peaceful, quiet, and breathtaking. One of my favorite places in the Gobi is watching the sunset from Bulagtai Mountain, which rises up from the desert right behind the lodge.” (Lauren B – Tripadvisor Review 2015)

“This is a great ger camp in the middle of nowhere! The gers are comfortable. There are staff members that will come to stoke the fire whenever you want. The food is very good, so you will enjoy every meal you eat there! There is a little pathway that you can walk to reach a lovely spot on the mountains for a great surrounding view. It is a must do. The staff is very accommodating for whatever you need. The en suite bathrooms are equipped with western toilets and showers. Highly recommend you stay here if you have the chance.” (Roseguinea-Tripadvisor Review 2015)

Lonely Planet

“…sets the bar for the Mongolian ger camp.” (Top Choice, LP Reviewed)

What an experience!

“The Lodge is in the middle of the Gobi Desert! God only knows how they manage to get everything to and from this place to deliver such excellent quality food and service…” (Giboos; W. Australia)

This is the flagship Mongolian ger camp, and earns its five star ratings

“We stayed here in August 2013…while the trip and the National Geographic folks were fabulous, Three Camel Lodge was one of the highlights…” (Tim G.; Virginia)

Exotic and fabulous!

“Take advantage of [the] $45 hour massage…You will float afterwards! Schedule it late and walk amidst the spectacular sky of stars.” (Kansasrod; Iowa)

So much fun

“My ger was a deluxe one and I had an inside bathroom, well worth the extra cost. I was comfortable during the night and did not require heating up the stove. Because of the tranquil atmosphere of the desert, I slept like a baby throughout my stay and wished I could have had more time to spend there. A real delightful experience.” (pghs67; California)

Beautiful location

“I don’t eat meat or gluten which was sometimes a challenge in Mongolia but they were very accommodating and dinners were excellent; they even had tofu. Breakfast was great and they made omelets for us right there. Good way to start the day…The location was breathtakingly beautiful as it is nestled close to the mountains which had snow on them.” (rebajane22; Pennsylvania)

What Our Clients Are Telling Us

T.Y. Hui

Dates of Stay: 8/26-9/4, 2019

Singapore

“All the staff on duty were very friendly and attentive. Love the space, peace and tranquility the lodge offers. Appreciate the operational premise of making this lodge sustainable and environmentally friendly. Appreciate the effort to offer food not easily available to the area. Happy that hiking poles were offered from reception.”

_____________________________________________________________

S, Thomas

Dates of Stay: 8/2-5, 2019

Eagle, ID USA

“Our group felt totally pampered. Everyone (guide, drivers, housekeeping, reception, kitchen staff) made every effort to make our stay run smoothly & successfully.”

_____________________________________________________________

Allsonstrine from Roswell, GA in November 2019 wrote:

Best Gers in Town! “The atmosphere was true Mongolia, and the facilities were clean and fresh. The Ger we stayed in was no Ritz Carlton, but for an adventurous spirit, our little fire stove and cool stone flooring added to the ambience. One of my favorite places to stay!”

Stayed October 2019

_____________________________________________________________

L. & S. Becerra

Dates of Stay: 8/24-9/7, 2019

Santa Fe, NM USA

“Everyone was great. Special thanks to Alma (our guide) who is amazing and made the stay special. Kitchen staff for making traditional Mongolian BBQ.”

Donald H. of Rochester, NY in August 2019 wrote:

Enjoyable three-night stay “My visit to the lodge concluded a 9-day trip to Mongolia and it was the perfect place to relax before the trip home. The rooms are clean and spacious. The food at the restaurant is excellent. The bar is very well stocked. The excursions provided are all enjoyable and convenient. Yes, it would be nice to have cell coverage to occasionally call home, but beyond that, this is pretty flawless.”

Stayed August 2019

_____________________________________________________________

A. Leighton

Dates of Stay: 8/31-9/15, 2019

Chicago, IL USA

“TCL is a special and remarkable place.”

_____________________________________________________________

L. Grant & J. Cupples

Dates of Stay: 10/2-13, 2019

New Zealand & Australia

“All the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. An exceptional experience overall. Everyone should be proud of what the company has created and delivered.”

_____________________________________________________________

Noura from Kuwait City, Kuwait in August 2019 wrote:

Best place to stay in all of Mongolia! “Wow! This place was a breath of fresh air after the places we’ve stayed in around Mongolia. The best glamping in the country! The staff and services were great!

It’s a long ride from Dalanzadgad airport. But once we arrived the setting made up for it. Keep in mind there are no roads around, so it is one bumpy ride to the camp.

The gers come with their own toilet (no door to the bathroom) and shower. There’s eco-friendly soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Everything is eco-friendly. You have to ask for a hairdryer. Good news is there is an electric outlet! Lighting is good but was limited because of solar energy. Water is limited so plan on taking quick showers (I’m sure you will it’s either freezing cold or boiling hot in the mornings, in my ger at least). Get extra portable lighting/flashlights and extra batteries just in case electricity goes off (it did a few times we were there, but briefly as I had to run over in the dark to ask for help). Ok so the bad news is there’s no TV (like all camps) or WiFi, but they don’t see this as bad as the place screams of unwinding and relaxation. There is a tv room under the bar and they have a handful of movies and documentaries, all Mongolia-related, and they’re a good selection.

The bar area is where you go to read, drink and get to know other guests. The restaurant opens during mealtimes only and you can see what they’re cooking for lunch and dinner through the kitchen windows. All set menu so you have to give them your allergies and dietary options. Breakfast buffet was really really good. The food is the best we had during our whole stay in Mongolia!

There are a few activities like horse riding and electric scooters. And of course, excursions. You take the walkway up the hill behind the camp and walk for about 5 minutes to the sunset viewing area which is a great place on the other side of the hill.

I recommend staying for at least 2 nights. We stayed 4 nights and it was great.”

Stayed August 2019